A Land Remembered – Orlando, Florida

A Land Remembered is a fine dining steakhouse located at Rosen Shingle Creek, a hotel and golf course. Yes, you read that right – two nearly vegans went to a steakhouse for dinner. Why? It was our anniversary and we had a gift certificate. So we got dressed up and ventured out.

IMG_1086 (800x600)

Getting to the restaurant took some effort. The resort is huge, but there are signs to direct you. When we got there, there was no valet out front even though there was a stand, so hubby dropped me off… and I didn’t see him again for 15 minutes! He had to park somewhat far away and then walk. I don’t know what’s up with this upscale, expensive restaurant not having a valet up front. That’s the point I took off for ambiance.

IMG_1075 (2) (774x800)

Once inside, the staff was very friendly and there was a nice ambiance with low lighting. We were seated right away and had excellent service.

The bread was delicious!

The bread was delicious! It was soft and flaky. 

While we didn't eat any, the detail on this butter was pretty amazing.

While we didn’t eat any, the detail on this butter was pretty amazing.

The entree offerings were pretty straight forward: meat or fish. So this was one of our fish nights. Choices included Florida Grouper, Salmon, and Chilean Sea Bass. My husband and I both decided on the same thing, the sea bass. However, ordering it required some help from our waiter. All of the options on the menu for preparation style included butter or cream sauce. When I explained to the waiter we didn’t want any dairy on our fish, he recommend we order it pan seared with olive oil, lemon and rosemary, sauce on the side. Which is what we did. And the fish was AMAZING, it literally melted in my mouth. It didn’t need any sauces on it. It was a HUGE portion – maybe 12 ounces? It came with a lemon wedge which I liked.

Pan seared Chilean Sea Bass

Pan seared Chilean Sea Bass

Ordering a side was a little tricky as well. The collard greens are made with bacon and they can’t prepare them without it. My husband got a baked potato, dry. It was cooked well. I ordered some garlic sauteed spinach. The spinach was good, but you must love garlic!

Garlic Sauteed Spinach

Garlic Sauteed Spinach

After all this food, we were beyond full and set to decline dessert since I couldn’t even finish all of my dinner. But then we were brought a plate of 6 desserts! It was for our anniversary. I thought it was very nice of them and the desserts looked adorable in the little shot glasses. They were chocolate mousse, strawberry cheesecake, banana cream pie, raspberry keylime, mixed berries and creme brulee.

IMG_1082 (800x663)

While the only healthy choice was the mixed berries (and actually one of my favorites), I decided to try a bite of the others since they were sitting in front of me. The raspberry keylime and chocolate mousse were pretty amazing.

Overall, we had a great dining experience that was actually fairly healthy with some work. I would only recommend this restaurant if you plan to eat fish. Vegans will not be happy.

Ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible  5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 4        Service: 5             Choices: 1           Taste: 5                Overall: 3

This entry was posted in Orlando, Florida, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment