The Pub at Doral Arrowwood – White Plains, New York

**Update: the menu has changed since my visit. No more tofu sliders, veggie burger, the option to add a Portobello mushroom to your salad or as many healthy sides 😞 The Vegetarian Delight (no pesto) looks like it could be delicious; let me know if you try it! 

The Pub is a casual restaurant located inside the Doral Arrowwood resort. It has a relaxed atmosphere, several televisions, dark wood tables, and a prominent wrap-around bar. It also has a good-sized fish tank as you enter which provided lots of entertainment for my 1-year old son.

Given that this is a pub, I was very pleasantly surprised at how many veggie choices are on their menu: several salads to which you can add a Portobello mushroom; Tofu Sliders; Vegetarian Delight (leave off the cheese); Whole Wheat or Gluten Free pasta with spinach and tomatoes; a Veggie Burger; several veggie sides (spinach, broccoli, celery and carrot sticks, basmati rice, baked potato); and create your own pasta. Since it is a unique menu item as well as recommended by my husband, I chose the Tofu Sliders for my entrée. I also got the Kale Salad to start.

Kale Salad

Kale Salad

The Kale Salad is marinated kale, fresh lemon juice, toasted walnuts, extra virgin olive oil and pepper flakes. There was plenty of kale and it was marinated well, but light on the toasted walnuts. However the menu does say this salad only has 133 calories so you can’t have many walnuts and keep to that number. I can’t see eating this as an entrée on its own, but I did add a portobello mushroom to it at the other restaurant at Doral Arrowwood, Atrium, which shares many of the same menu items with The Pub (although prices are slightly different which I find odd). The addition of the mushroom will make it a meal.

Tofu Sliders

Tofu Sliders

You get three adorable little sandwiches when you order the sliders. The bread and the tofu steaks had a charcoal sear and were topped with alfalfa sprouts and a sweet soy glaze that tasted like teriyaki sauce. I enjoyed them and would order them again. My husband also ordered the side of basmati rice which was good and quite large.

Sliders Close-up

Sliders Close-up

Tons of rice!

Tons of rice!

Our waiter was extremely attentive and provided us with excellent service. When I asked for a refill on my coffee to go, he obliged quickly and also brought me a bottle of water (at no additional charge).

The variety of vegetarian/vegan options alone would get this restaurant a good overall score, but the taste of the food and quality service topped it off. Two thumbs up from me! Give it a try if you are in Westchester.

Ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible  5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 4        Service: 5             Choices: 5           Taste: 5                Overall: 5

This entry was posted in New York, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment