Pho-Real Eats – Ocoee, Florida

Pho-Real Eats serves up Vietnamese cuisine in a fast-casual atmosphere. Fast-casual usually means there’s a fair amount of noise, so my husband and I thought it would be safe to take our son along while we ordered a meal to-go. It turns out that Pho-Real Eats is a kid-friendly place and we could have very well eaten there after all, although our little guy is pretty squirmy lately and doesn’t like to sit still for long.

We ordered an appetizer and two entrees:

  • Cuon Chay (fresh rolls with fried tofu) to start with both the lime soy sauce and peanut sauce
  • A “Create-a-Plate” with broken rice (broken rice is a grade of rice consisting of grains broken in the milling process used in Vietnamese cooking), a double portion of grilled portabella mushroom with fresh tofu and the lime soy sauce
  •  Pho Soup with vegetable broth

It took about 10 minutes for our order to be ready and they packaged it up very nicely. We had no problem with spills on the way home.

The fresh rolls were like a salad rolled up in rice paper. Most of the taste came from the sauce, of which I preferred the excellent lime soy sauce to the peanut sauce. I was super excited about the Pho, as this was my first time trying Pho. After all, Pho is in the name of the restaurant so it had to be good, right? I think I tasted cinnamon and clove. Definitely a different flavor profile than I’m used to, but good. I actually liked it even better the next day as leftovers.

Vegetable Pho

Vegetable Pho

However, my favorite item was the create-a-plate. The grilled portabella was SOOOOO good! I also enjoyed the texture of the broken rice. I will definitely be ordering something with the grilled portabella the next time I’m there.

image

Tofu and portabella on a salad

Overall, I enjoyed my first experience at Pho-Real Eats and look forward to going back. There are two more veggie items on the menu: a papaya salad with fried tofu and a sub with the grilled portabella mushroom, so maybe I’ll try the sub next time. Don’t be afraid to bring your appetite because you do get quite a lot of food, hence the leftovers the next day.

Ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible  5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 3        Service: 5             Choices: 4           Taste: 5                Overall: 4

This entry was posted in Orlando, Florida, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pho-Real Eats – Ocoee, Florida

  1. Gail Weston says:

    We will have to go there! Xoxo

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

