Savoree – Winter Garden, Florida

Update: I hadn’t been to Savoree in a while and went back for lunch looking forward to getting a quinoa bowl. Unfortunately my experience was not as good as my visit last year. 

On their website they have changed their slogan to “Fresh Healthy Meals” and focus mainly on their meal plan service. No mention of vegetarian and vegan food as before. 

At the restaurant, all of the nice menu signs I had previously taken pictures of have been replaced with chalkboards. All of the salads, sandwiches and bowls listed had some kind of animal protein in them. Still no vegan proteins available like tofu or tempeh and now I didn’t see any beans either. There was still the option of creating your own, however there was not a board listing your options for what to put in the bowl or salad and when I asked for a paper menu I was curtly informed there was not one. So I put together a quinoa bowl order from looking at what other salads and bowls had on the menu and asked about a couple others (spinach and tomatoes). I didn’t see the broccoli I had previously, nor the Sriracha salsa on the menu. The only vegan dressing is the Asian dressing so I got that by default, along with onions, avocado and toasted almonds. 

Two of the three people working were clearly brand new and couldn’t answer any of my questions. This also is probably why it took a very long time to order and get our order relative to the number of people in the restaurant (perhaps there were take out orders ahead of us?). One person in my party got her order a good 5-10 minutes before the rest of us  (she did not like the Walkers Bowl – found the rice undercooked and the salmon old).  Then they gave us someone else’s order. My bowl had the wrong dressing, fortunately on the side so easy to change but when I brought it to the staff’s attention I again felt like the one woman who was not new seemed inconvenienced (and the new guy didn’t know what to do). 

  
The cucumber water is gone and I didn’t see any coffee. The food itself now comes in styrofoam containers. That’s ok if you want it to go but for dining in is not pleasant and seems very wasteful. My group left quickly when we finished eating. The restaurant was clean. 

Fortunately I liked my food! Otherwise the whole experience would have been a bust. The quinoa was cooked well and the Asian dressing added a nice flavor to the veggies. I would have like more of it, I didn’t feel very full after eating. There is also no more cracker served with the bowl. The third person in our party enjoyed her tomato soup as well. 

For ordering something to go, if you order the right thing, Savoree could still be a good and healthy option. However, the service and explanation of choices for creating your own bowl/salad/sandwich need to be better. With some simple changes Savoree could be a much more enjoyable experience. 

Updated ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible 5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 2 Service: 1 Choices: 3 Taste: 3 Overall: 2
*********************************

Savoree is a fast casual restaurant in Winter Garden and claims to have “fresh and healthy” and “vegetarian and vegan friendly food”. It took the place of where Seeds used to be. You can browse their menu here. They are generally open from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm. 

IMG_1876 IMG_1875

 

I was there for a late lunch and since I hadn’t looked at the menu online before I went I spent a long time deciding what to order. They have signature salads, sandwiches and bowls and also the option to create salads and sandwiches of your choosing. There are no tofu or tempeh options for the salads or sandwiches but plenty of fresh veggies, beans and nuts – and even a couple fruits. Instead of a salad they also offer a quinoa or organic brown rice bowl with your choice of toppings. In addition, they have a soup of the day, iced teas, beer, wine and coffee and free cucumber water.

IMG_1877 IMG_1874

I decided to try the quinoa bowl. I got to pick 5 toppings and a sauce or dressing. Of note, the veggies are raw like you’d get in a salad. That’s not a bad thing, just not what I expected. I also got the Sriracha dressing, which is a salsa.

My Quinoa Bowl Creation

My Quinoa Bowl Creation

This was definitely a healthy lunch and I love being able to order quinoa at a restaurant, which is packed with protein. Their quinoa was savory and hearty; it really filled me up! My husband ordered his bowl with half quinoa and half brown rice, so this is an option if you wish.

I also tasted the black bean soup, which was very good. And I LOVED the cucumber water! It was so refreshing and just a little different from regular water.

I saw someone else with a sandwich and noted that they are very heavy on the bread compared to the filling. I prefer the opposite, so I’ll stick with bowls or salads when I dine here.

Overall, you can really stick to a healthy plant-based diet at Savoree. And eat good food while doing it πŸ™‚ If you live in the area they also have a meal delivery service and will customize your plan to meet your dietary needs, which is pretty cool.

Ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible  5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 3        Service: 5             Choices: 5           Taste: 5                Overall: 5

This entry was posted in Orlando, Florida, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Savoree – Winter Garden, Florida

  1. Pingback: Seeds Natural Market – Winter Garden, Florida | Veg Out To Eat

Leave a Reply

