Dancing Avocado Kitchen – Daytona Beach, Florida

On the road again, this time for Dan’s first Olympic distance triathlon. Since I’m off strenuous exercise until after baby-to-be comes along, I tackled one of my other favorite activities: finding delicious healthy vegan food! Based on other online reviews, I insisted we have one of our meals at the Dancing Avocado Kitchen.

We rode our bikes since it was such a beautiful day and ate outside in the covered patio. The restaurant is eclectic and has a laid back vibe. You sit anywhere you like and a server will find you. After your meal you pay at the cash register.

The menu has abundant options for a healthy vegan meal. They also have choices for carnivores, so this is a place where everyone will be happy to eat. The serve breakfast and lunch. The breakfast menu has an option to substitute tofu for eggs, which is awesome. We were there for lunch and after taking forever to decide (I get overwhelmed with so many tasty looking options to order), I decided on the Kale Salad with marinated tofu (there are several different protein options available to add). Dan got the Earth Burger, a vegan veggie burger made of black beans, oats, and lentil sprouts. The burger comes with a side of taters and since Dan wanted to avoid fried food he was able to substitute a side of beans and rice instead. I think he finished his entire meal in under 5 minutes. In between bites he managed a “good” when I asked him how the burger was, lol. I did manage to steal a small taste of the patty and it was flavorful with a good consistency.

Earth Burger

Earth Burger

My Kale Salad with tofu was AMAZING. The dressing was sweet and tangy, kind of like a sweet and sour sauce but as a dressing. The kale is massaged with lemon (I need to do this at home) and the salad is full of healthy veggies including avocado, carrots, tomatoes, and sprouts.  I ate every last bite.

Kale Salad

Kale Salad with Tofu

My only regret is that because the Dancing Avocado Kitchen is closed Sundays and Mondays we could only eat one meal there. This is one of the best places I’ve eaten for a plant based diet.

Ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible  5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 5        Service: 5             Choices: 5           Taste: 5                Overall: 5

This entry was posted in Daytona Beach, Florida, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dancing Avocado Kitchen – Daytona Beach, Florida

  1. Emily says:

    The burger is not vegan. I asked my waitress if it contained milk or eggs, and she brought me the list of ingredients from the back. It contains both!

Leave a Reply

