Seeds Natural Market – Winter Garden, Florida

**Seeds is now closed. In its place is Savoree, which I think you will enjoy!

Hubby and I were recently enjoying a music festival in Winter Garden, which has a cute small town feel about 30 minutes west of downtown Orlando. It was dinner time and we were perusing the street vendors’ offerings – and feeling disappointed since I wanted something healthy to eat. Then at the corner of Plant St and Main St I saw Seeds Natural Market, which I’d read about online as having a cafe and juice bar in addition to select grocery items. So in we went.

The front of the store has healthy, natural grocery items, including nutritional yeast which I was happy to pick up so I didn’t have to trek over to Whole Foods to get it since I was running low at home. The prices are high, especially for the frozen foods, so be prepared.

View of Seeds from the couch by the juice bar.

View of Seeds from the couch by the juice bar.

The cafe and juice bar is towards the back. The menu is suspended overhead on blackboard. You order at the counter and once your food is ready pay the cashier at the front of the store. There are a couple small tables and a sitting area with a couch with chairs, but most people probably take their orders to go, especially given that the food is served in take out containers. There are several juice and smoothie choices and you have the option to add different proteins to them, like chia and flax seeds. There are only a couple salad and wrap options but they all looked good to me.

I had the Not Your Mom’s Chicken Salad, made out of chickpeas. It was so good I was inspired to look up a recipe online to make my own version at home. I also had the Mean Green Detox smoothie. It tasted almost like a juice and to me it was just ok. I had the Sweet Green smoothie on another occasion and liked this one better, but I do love pineapple in my smoothies. I also tried the Bangladesh wrap which is made with quinoa, tomatoes, cilantro, cucumber,  and Thai coconut curry hummus. This wrap is good, it definitely needed the hummus for flavor. I will say it “tasted healthy” – you know what I mean 🙂 So kids and my husband probably wouldn’t like it, lol.

Mean Green Detox and Not Your Mom's Chicken Salad

Mean Green Detox and Not Your Mom’s Chicken Salad

Overall I was happy to find a healthy dining option while wandering around Winter Garden and while the food choices are limited they are plant based and taste pretty good. It’s definitely a place to go if you want a smoothie or juice. The staff is also very friendly and helpful if you have questions.

Ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible  5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 2        Service: 3             Choices: 4           Taste: 4                Overall: 4

This entry was posted in Orlando, Florida, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeds Natural Market – Winter Garden, Florida

  1. Pingback: Savoree – Winter Garden, Florida | Veg Out To Eat

Leave a Reply

