Gator’s Dockside **Guest Review by Dan**

Spicy Black Bean Burger

As you may remember from my last post about veggie burgers from The Swamp, I decided to further investigate these so-called “tomatoes” at a Florida chain of sports bars called Gator’s Dockside. This particular Dockside is located in Gainesville, Florida. While all of my data supported the hypothesis that spicy black bean burgers are really tasty, my sample size on tomato as a topping was too small to make a call. I chose a veggie burger while at Dockside in an attempt to isolate my dependent variable (tomato) and included lettuce since it has no effect on taste. Instead of fries I picked rice as a side.

Gator's Dockside 2 Gator's Dockside

I think I can say with reasonable certainty now that tomato makes a burger better. The burger as a whole was very good as burgers go, and the rice helped me stay on the healthy side while being out to eat. My good friend Jason even enjoyed a small piece and remarked that he did not expect a non-meat burger to taste so good. In all, Dockside has a nice vegetarian fallback option if you’re not in the mood for a salad. While most of the salads include an animal-based protein they can be made to be vegan or vegetarian. Just one salad starts out vegetarian.

Disclaimers:

  • Since I just checked, you may want to call ahead and see if the restaurant has veggie patties since there isn’t one on the Gainesville location’s menu.
  • The Spicy Black Bean Burger is vegetarian, but may or may not be vegan. I didn’t ask.

So there you go! A healthier vegetarian take on bar food that could be available.

March Madness: Miller’s Gainesville Ale House and Chomps Sports Grill – Gainesville, Florida

This entry was posted in Chain Restaurants, Gainesville, Florida, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gator’s Dockside **Guest Review by Dan**

  1. Pingback: March Madness: Miller’s Gainesville Ale House and Chomps Sports Grill – Gainesville, Florida | Veg Out To Eat

  2. Sad that this is not on their menu anymore.

  3. Stacey says:

    That is too bad, I guess vegetarians are stuck with getting a modified salad or a side (that sounds awesome paired with beer eh?). They must have stopped serving it soon after our visit, I checked some other locations’ menus and it’s not on those either.
    Vegetarians like to watch sports and eat food too! Grrr.

Leave a Reply

