J. Christopher’s – Savannah, Georgia

My husband and I wanted to experience brunch on a Sunday morning in Savannah and we decided on J. Christopher’s due to good reviews online and recommendations from some locals. For two people there was only a short 10 minute wait which is pretty good at 11:00 am on a Sunday.

The restaurant only serves breakfast and lunch. It appears to be in a converted garage. For as crowded as it was, it didn’t feel overwhelming, maybe due to the high ceiling. You can see the cooks in the back making the food. Our waitress was cheerful and attentive. We got our very own pot of coffee at the table so we didn’t have to wait for a refill.

As for the food, there were not any vegan meals on the menu as-is. However, there were plenty of fruits and vegetables listed among other items on the menu. It took me a little while to scan the menu, but I came up with my own creation. It was no trouble at all to order my custom breakfast – our waitress even suggested adding some granola to what I had come up with.

Fruit, whole wheat toast, avocado and granola = healthy way to start the day!

Fruit, whole wheat toast, avocado and granola = healthy way to start the day!

I ordered the fruit plate without yogurt. I added granola, whole wheat toast, and avocado. I love smearing avocado on toast like butter, it’s delicious. Everything was excellent and I was happy to get protein and healthy fats along with my carbs.

While at first glance I wasn’t sure what I was going to eat, I very much appreciate the staff at J. Christopher’s being flexible on combining ingredients they already had in a different way. Because of this I think the only obstacle at breakfast is your own creativity (although there isn’t any tofu/soy on the menu). You could have an English muffin or bagel, jam or some of the veggies they use in their omelets or skillets. I would be happy to eat there again.

Ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible  5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 4        Service: 5             Choices: 3           Taste: 5                Overall: 4

This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews, Savannah, Georgia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

