Vine – Hilton Head, South Carolina

One of the best parts of traveling somewhere is getting to go to a new, fabulous restaurant. I look on places like TripAdvisor, Yelp and Urbanspoon for reviews and to give me ideas on  the *best* places to try. In Hilton Head, one of these restaurants is Vine. It’s rated #2 on TripAdvisor. I was so excited to go and hoped I could find a delicious and healthy veggie meal that I too would want to rate 5 stars.

Vine is tiny and they pack in a lot of tables. We were in Hilton Head in the off season and stopped in on a Monday evening. There was only 1 table open! This was definitely a clue we were at a great place. We sat on the patio which was covered and plenty warm with heaters. There was a musician playing outside as well and it was nice and not overpowering. Our waiter explained that the owner picks out the produce for dinner at a local farm every morning, so the menu is always changing. They had an extensive wine list but I opted to try a specialty drink, the blackberry lavender martini. It was exquisite.

There were several items I thought looked tasty, but after talking to our waiter I started with a black and grey kale salad and then had a vegan ginger coconut stew for the main course. The kale salad was out of this world – I didn’t know kale could taste THAT good! It was basically chopped raw kale, olive oil, lemon juice, chopped walnuts and some balsamic drizzle with 3 thin Gruyere cheese slices on top (if you so choose). It sounds so simple but it was so good. A palate cleansing blood orange sorbet was divine and then the main course – oh how happy my mouth was! The ginger coconut stew had an amazing flavor and there was tons of it. I was extra pleased to have leftovers so I could enjoy it again the next day for lunch.

Vine exemplifies the type of eating experience I’m searching for in this blog. My food was nearly vegan and amazing. No sense of sacrificing taste and enjoyment for health whatsoever.

Ratings from a plant-based eating perspective (1-5 scale, 1=Terrible  5=Excellent)

Ambiance: 5        Service: 5             Choices: 3           Taste: 5                Overall: 5

This entry was posted in Hilton Head Island, South Carolina and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vine – Hilton Head, South Carolina

  1. Erin says:

    Sounds delish! I’ll have to try that kale concoction!

  2. Stacey says:

    Erin, I haven’t tried to make it myself but it’s definitely on my “to do” list.

  3. Steve says:

    Thank you for your very kind words, we enjoy what we do and are grateful that so many are enjoying the experience. Let me know next time you are coming and Ill make my vegan chocolate mousse and chinese five spice tofu tacos.

    All the best!

    Steve
    Vine

  4. Pingback: Civilization – Gainesville, Florida | Veg Out To Eat

Leave a Reply

